Manage user access to the server

NVivo Collaboration Server

This page explains how to give users access to NVivo Collaboration Server and reserve their access.

On this page



Give users access to Collaboration Server

To give users access to Collaboration Server you must add them to one or more server user groups. The groups you select define the users' roles.

 

The user accounts that you can add are:

  • Windows domain accounts (using integrated Windows authentication), or

  • nominated local Windows accounts on the server or a domain to which the server belongs.

NOTE

  • Windows Active Directory (AD) user groups and local user groups can also be added.

 

The server user groups and their associated roles are:

  • Users—can connect to Collaboration Server from the NVivo client and access projects that they have been given access to by Project Creators or Project Owners.

  • Project Creators—can connect to Collaboration Server from the NVivo client and create new team projects in the client.

  • Administrators—control license allocation, server user groups and other management tools in the Collaboration Server Manager. Cannot connect to Collaboration Server from the NVivo client (unless also given one of the other two roles).

NOTES

  • Administrators control overall access to Collaboration Server—they do not control access to specific projects. This is done by Project Creators (in Collaboration Server Manager) or Project Owners (in the NVivo client—see NVivo client Help).

  • You must add at least one user account to the Project Creators group.

  • The administrator created during Collaboration Server installation is automatically added to the Administrators group. This group must contain at least one user account.

Add users to server user groups

To add users to server user groups:

  1. In NVivo Collaboration Server Manager, click the Users tab.

  2. On the top right, click Add users.

  1. Enter the domain or server name, the user's account name (or the group name), then select the server user group to add the user to.

  2. Click Add.

  3. Repeat to add the same user to another server user group.

NOTE  

  • To remove users from a server user group, click the X next to the group name in the users list. If you remove a named user (see below), you should also remove them from the named users list.
  • If you have difficulty adding users to a server user group, check your environment for NVivo Collaboration Server compatibility.

Create named users to reserve access

Your organization has purchased Collaboration Server with a number of client access licences (CALs), determining how many users can connect to the server. When users connect to the server they use these CALs. You can reserve CALs for specified users (who have already been given access to the server—Give_users_access_to_Collaboration_Server, above) so they can connect at any time. Do this by making them a 'named user', thereby reserving 1 CAL for their exclusive use.

 

To make a user a named user:

  1. In NVivo Collaboration Server Manager, click the Licenses tab.

  2. In the Named user section, click Add named user.

  1. Enter the domain or server name and the user's (or group) account name.

  1. Click Add.

NOTE

  • For named user accounts that are groups, rather than individual users, the allocated CAL can only be used by 1 person at a time. Anyone else connecting with the same group account uses 3 CALs (if available) instead of the single reserved CAL, which has already been claimed.
  • Similarly, if a named user connects to the server from more than one computer at the same time, the first connection uses the reserved CAL and each subsequent connection uses 3 CALs (if available).
  • To remove the allocation of a CAL to a named user, click the X next to their name in the Named users list. 

    Note: Removing a user from this list only removes the CAL allocation—it does not remove the user's access to Collaboration Server.
  • If a named user is deleted from the Users tab, they are not automatically removed from the Named users list—you must do this separately.

Check the number of CALs in use

To see how many CALs are currently in use (i.e. the users are currently logged into the server):

  1. In NVivo Collaboration Server Manager, click the Users tab.

The number of CALs currently in use is displayed at the top of the screen.

Check the allocation of CALs to named users

To see how many CALs are allocated to named users:

  1. In NVivo Collaboration Server Manager, click the Licenses tab and see the summary at the top of the Named users section.