Manage user access to the server

NVivo Server 11 R2

This page explains how to give users access to NVivo for Teams (NVivo Server 11 R2) and reserve their access.

If you are using NVivo Server 11, refer to Manage user access to the server (NVivo Server 11).

On this page


 


Give users access to NVivo for Teams

To give users access to NVivo for Teams you must add them to one or more server user groups. The groups you select define the users' roles.

 

The user accounts that you can add are:

  • Windows domain accounts (using integrated Windows authentication), or

  • nominated local Windows accounts on the server or a domain to which the server belongs.

NOTE

  • Windows Active Directory (AD) user groups and local user groups can also be added.

 

The server user groups and their associated roles are:

  • Users—can connect to NVivo for Teams from the NVivo client and access projects that they have been given access to by Project Creators or Project Owners.

  • Project Creators—can connect to NVivo for Teams from the NVivo client and create new team projects in the client.

  • Administrators—control license allocation, server user groups and other management tools in the NVivo 11 Server Manager. Cannot connect to NVivo for Teams from the NVivo client (unless also given one of the other two roles).

NOTES

  • Administrators control overall access to NVivo for Teams—they do not control access to specific projects. This is done by Project Creators (in NVivo 11 Server Manager) or Project Owners (in the NVivo client—see NVivo client Help).

  • You must add at least one user account to the Project Creators group.

  • The administrator created during Collaboration Server installation is automatically added to the Administrators group. This group must contain at least one user account.

Add users to server user groups

To add users to server user groups:

  1. In NVivo 11 Server Manager, click the Users tab and select Groups in the left-hand tab.

  2. In the Groups box, select the server user group you want to add users to.

  3. Click Add. The Select Users dialog box opens.

  4. Enter the domain or server name in the From this location box, and the user accounts or groups you want to add—separate multiple names with a semicolon.

  5. Click Check Names to verify user account and group names.

  1. Click OK.

  2. Repeat to add the same user to another server user group.

NOTE  

  • To remove users from a server user group, select the user and click Remove. If you remove a named user (see below), you should also remove them from the named users list.
  • If you have difficulty adding users to a server user group, check your environment for NVivo Server compatibility.

Top of Page

Create named users to reserve access

Your organization has purchased NVivo for Teams with a number of client access licences (CALs), determining how many users can connect to the server. When users connect to the server they use these CALs. You can reserve CALs for specified users (who have already been given access to the server—Give_users_access_to_Collaboration_Server, above) so they can connect at any time. Do this by making them a 'named user', thereby reserving 1 CAL for their exclusive use.

 

To make a user a named user:

  1. In NVivo Server 11 Manager, click the Licensing tab.

  2. On the left, click the Allocation tab.

  3. Click the Add button to open the Select Users dialog box.

  4. Enter the domain or server name in the From this location box, and the user accounts or groups you want to add—separate multiple names with a semicolon.

    If you allocate a CAL to a user account that has not been added to the Users project group it is automatically added.

  5. Click Check Names to verify user account and group names.

  6. Click OK.

NOTE

  • For named user accounts that are groups, rather than individual users, the allocated CAL can only be used by 1 person at a time. Anyone else connecting with the same group account uses 3 CALs (if available) instead of the single reserved CAL, which has already been claimed.
  • Similarly, if a named user connects to the server from more than one computer at the same time, the first connection uses the reserved CAL and each subsequent connection uses 3 CALs (if available).
  • To remove the allocation of a CAL to a named user, select the user from the list and click Remove

    Note: Removing a user from this list only removes the CAL allocation—it does not remove the user's access to Collaboration Server.
  • If a named user is removed from the Users tab, they are not automatically removed from the licensing allocation list—you must do this separately.

Top of Page

Check the number of CALs in use

To see how many CALs are currently being consumed by NVivo users:

  1. In NVivo Server 11 Manager, click the Users tab.

  2. On the left, click the Users tab.

The number of CALs currently in use is displayed at the bottom of the screen.

Top of Page

Check the allocation of CALs to named users

To see how many CALs are allocated to named users:

  1. In NVivo Server 11 Manager, click the Licensing tab.

  2. On the left, click on the Allocation tab. The distribution of CALs is displayed at the bottom of the window.

Top of Page