Manage user access to the server

NVivo Collaboration Server

This page explains how to give users access to NVivo Collaboration Server by adding them to groups and how you can change Client Access License (CAL) allocations. Refer to Understand user access for more information about user groups and CAL allocations.

On this page


 


Add users to user groups

To assign users to user groups:

  1. In NVivo Collaboration Server Manager, click the Users tab.

  2. On the top right, click Add users.

  1. Enter the account name and select the group you want to add the user to. .

  2. Click Add.

NOTE  

Top of Page

Allocate Client Access Licenses (CALs) to named users

To allocate a CAL to a named user:

  1. In NVivo Collaboration Server Manager, click the Licenses tab.

  2. Click Add named user.

  1. Enter the account name..

  1. Click Add.

NOTE

  • You can also allocate a CAL to a user group (rather than an individual user account), but this may not guarantee access to a specific user.
  • To remove the allocation of a CAL to a named user, click the X next to their name. Removing the user from this list merely removes the CAL allocation—it does not remove the user from user groups.

Top of Page

Check the number of CALs in use

To see how many CALs are currently being consumed by NVivo users:

  1. In NVivo Collaboration Server Manager, click the Users tab.

The number of CALs currently in use is displayed at the top of the screen.

Top of Page

Check the allocation of Client Access Licenses (CALs)

To see how many CALs are allocated to named users and how many are available for concurrent users:

  1. In NVivo Collaboration Server Manager, click the Licenses tab.

Refer to Understand user access for more information about how CALs are allocated.

Top of Page